Baguio Girl Takes on Manila

Manila, the concrete jungle of the Philippines, approximately 250 km away from Baguio (via North Luzon Expressway).

Since I’ve been working 6 days a week for 6 months now, I’ve decided to have a mini getaway from all my usual daily routine. I got on the bus, alone for the first time, at around 10 p.m and since it was a deluxe bus ride I arrived in Cubao at around 2 a.m. My boyfriend fetched me from the bus station and we went directly to the condo unit in Makati for a quick rest before taking on Manila.

First stop, Manila Ocean Park, we woke up at around 6 a.m to prepare  and have breakfast.  After breakfast, I had my first ever MRT and LRT ride, it was not crowded at that time because it was a Saturday and it wasn’t rush hour.

20161203_090508

Obligatory Photo at the Entrance

We arrived at Manila Ocean Park around 9:30 a.m and since we purchased vouchers from Metrodeal, we had to wait in line to have the vouchers redeemed. It was quite a deal, P899 instead of P3000 for 7 attractions plus their liquid buffet. Here is the list of the attractions we went to:

  • Oceanarium
  • Trails to Antartica (Penguin Exhibit and Christmas Village)
  • Jellies Exhibit
  • Birds of Prey Kingdom
  • Fish Spa
  • Sharks and Rays Dry Encounter
  • Amazing Stories of Yexel’s Museum

I have to say I enjoyed most of the attractions, especially the encounter with the sting rays and Yexel’s museum, but I didn’t enjoy one attraction namely the Birds of Prey Kingdom. It wasn’t very fun because you wouldn’t see a lot of species of birds.

20161203_110807

Gotta Love this Minions

The liquid buffet was okay as well, the food was not quite what I expected. The food was delicious but there were a few to choose from and the food isn’t out of the ordinary, not very special.

Manila Ocean park made me feel like a  kid again, I had fun and I enjoyed the place. I would definitely be coming back here again.

The following day was spent at Ace Water Spa, It was the most relaxing place I’ve been to. Again we bought vouchers from Metrodeal, It was a 4-hour pass for P385 instead of P550.  We spent hours just relaxing and enjoying the water massage therapy, jumping from one massage to the other, one pool to the other. The place has hot herbal pools, lap pools, steam and sauna, and hydrotherapies. Although no pictures were taken at this place because cameras and phones are prohibited for privacy purposes.

We had lunch at “The Vikings”, it was the best buffet I’ve been to, they have a lot of selections from seafood, to meat, drinks and deserts. I wanted to try everything but my body wouldn’t let me. LOL!

The rest of the day was spent roaming around the city, divisoria and other malls. It was walking all around until we were tired and decided to go home. LOL!

20161205_162653

Here’s a clip of the entire trip to Manila:

‘Til the next lakwatsa!

Leave a Reply

